Stop the Annoying “There are unused icons on your desktop” Popup Balloon

One of the most irritating “features” in Windows XP is the popup balloon dialog that tells you to clean your desktop. I booted up an old virtual machine a few minutes ago and encountered it again, so I decided to write up how to turn it off.Annoying…

image

Right-click on the desktop and choose Properties, and then the Desktop tab, and then the Customize Desktop icon.

image

Now just uncheck the box for “Run Annoying Desktop Cleanup Wizard every 60 days”

image

Just one example of a balloon I don’t want in my perfectly windy sky.

3 thoughts on “Stop the Annoying “There are unused icons on your desktop” Popup Balloon

  1. I can’t begin to count the number of different operating systems I’ve used in my life… some so esoteric, most people have never heard of them (proprietary dedicated systems used in aerospace). Experience tells me you’re not likely to discover every single nuance embedded in every OS, assuming you are trying to have a life away from computers. Windows is no exception and, while I’ve gotten pretty good at ferreting out the more annoying crap, some have escaped me, simply because I don’t have the time to find them.

    Thankfully, there are people like you who have discovered some of the fixes I haven’t. I truly appreciate it. I no longer have to look at that stupid wizard, especially since it’s usually wrong about how often I’ve used any given icon. :p

    Keep up the good work.

ឆ្លើយ​តប

